My Dreams are on the Moon

(Takes deep breath. Ok here we go~)

My Dreams are on the Moon,

And with the stars above.

She holds all I hold dear,

My memories, my loves.

Drifting bodies of clouds pass by,

As does time, as does space.

They waft by and mist and blur

Her cold and gentle face.

Her light is missed in day,

When I labor in the sun.

Yet that makes her soft light keen,

When the night falls, when dreams come.

Only then do I dare to fly, to reach,

Through the dark night to orbit,

To wine and dine and waltz with her,

To live in our would-be ever after.

She makes me laugh with child-like wonder.

With her, the world was but an oyster.

But my soul, it mourns her fading smile

Oh, what I’d give, just for a while-

A little while longer, yes, just a little while more,

‘fore I kiss her pale hand, ‘fore I leave the floor.

Alas, her too-soft glow, it cannot hide

The harsh light of life and all that it bides.

I leave her a while, and don’t leave her at all.

Shall I ever pluck her from her lofty skies?

Can I bring her down and make her mine?

How many lifetimes will I get to try?

She waxes and wanes,

in her all-knowing glow,

As does age, as does life,

She won’t be brought low.

My Dreams are on the Moon,

Too high above to catch, to ride.

I formed her, made her glow and spin,

And there command her to reside.

To spread her radiant grace afar,

O, her elusive, delicate beauty!

And if she find it possible,

To hide her pity, mockery of me.

As long as she lives with my dreams,

I content to admire her in mine.

___________________________________________________

And that, ladies and gents, concludes my attempt at poetry.

You may as well know that I still cannot tell a good poem from a bad one. (Oh the shame) This didn’t start out as rhyming poetry, I must admit. It came in short sentences that most certainly did not rhyme when I was moon-gazing a few hours ago. (No, I do not moon-gaze on a regular basis) I was going to make it all fragmented and modern which I heard, does not exactly need to rhyme. But after going on for a while, it felt weird to call something that didn’t rhyme ‘poetry’. (Yes, I still use ‘Roses are red, violets are blue’) At most, it would probably be known as ‘metered thoughts in short sentences’.

Oh, argh, can’t paragraph this properly in WordPress. Oh whateves. You know what I mean. (They’re in lines of four, save for the last 2 lines… just saying)

So, this was the result of rhyming my thoughts. I have no idea if it’s a good poem or a bad one. If you are some poetry expert, I’d be glad to know what you think of it. If you think it’s a load of wannabe rambling, well, it probably is but hey man, I took the effort to make it rhyme. You try it some time. Not an aspiring poet anyway. But I do like this so-called poem. I do. And I’m proud of it so. Yay achievement unlocked~

And now, it’s like 1 am. Takes such a long while to rhyme yourself. Interpret as you will although I think it’s pretty obvious what’s on my mind tonight hoho.

Oh yes! I was inspired by this song, “The Moon’s a Harsh Mistress”:

I didn’t like this song that much when I first heard it but it’s growing onto me. And the words are lovely to sing. (Italicized are my favourite bits!)

“The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress”

See her as she flies
Golden sails across the skies
Close enough to touch
But careful if you try
Though she looks as warm as gold
The moon’s a harsh mistress
The moon can be so cold

Once the sun did shine
And Lord it felt so fine
The moon a phantom rose
Through the mountains and the pine
And then the darkness fell
And the moon’s a harsh mistress
It’s hard to love her well

I fell out of her eyes
And I fell out of her heart
I fell down on my face
Yes I did
And I tripped and I missed my star
Then I fell and fell alone
And the moon’s a harsh mistress
And the sky’s made of stone

The moon’s a harsh mistress

She’s hard to call your own

Yes, so… yes. The End.
Sweet dreams y’all! 🙂
A Penny For Your Thoughts

