Review Preview

Last Day of the Year! I’ve decided to do a little review-preview thing now that we’re kinda teetering between breaking into a new year and bidding this one farewell.

I’ve had two challenges set before me by my dad. He probably didn’t expect us to take it seriously when he posed them but I thought they were interesting so here goes.

Challenge number 1: Instead of reflecting on what you were thankful for, look back to ask yourself what was the biggest lesson you learnt this year.

Well, I must say I have had many lessons throughout this year. To be fair, I can’t quite recall the first half of the year anymore. I’ve selectively forgotten my short stint working as a teacher hahaha. So I guess, technically, I’ll be reflecting on the later half of the year.

If I want to kind of narrow it down to the root of all my lessons, I think it would be along the lines of know God personally, know God first. Really. I feel that most problems, most angst and misunderstandings stem from not living the way God wants you to, not reacting in the way Jesus would but responding in my own selfish, narrow perspective. And that happens because I don’t take time out to walk with Him or read Him and basically know Him as a person. If I were more like Him, knew His heart and everything, I’d know what to say and when to say it, I’d know what to do or not to do to help the most. I’d know what I should do that will please Him the most and I’d be wise enough to be trusted with His work. Stuff like that. Not knowing Him shows in how I lead my life and the mistakes I make. Still, I know these mistakes help me to see what I wouldn’t otherwise and thus brings me to follow Him more closely which I wouldn’t if I thought I was all there. Basically, God first and centre always.

Challenge number 2: One Bible verse/passage to end this year and another to start next year.

Ok this is hard. I don’t have a single verse/passage because there’s too many and I can’t consolidate myself. I’ll give myself a maximum of three verses each then muhahaha.

I think above all, this year has been another year of God’s faithfulness in everything. I’ve stumbled here and there, made mistakes, had new and sometimes scary experiences but God is good in trials and in my weakness. He shows me where I’ve gone wrong, picks me up and helps me do better. He removes my guilt, helps me change, gives me peace and strength and chances to grow and try again.

Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful.

Hebrews 10:23

Yes indeed, yes indeed.

I also had a lot of thoughts this year about people, society, the world, how scary and twisted it is becoming. In essence, how godless and fearless. It’s so… almost hopeless and it’s kind of getting dark everywhere that I want to escape to where God always is, where it’s safe and everything is put right and meant to be. So this is the encouragement for closing the past year for me:

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.

John 16:33

And amidst all the many voices of the world, this just stays with me. It just reverberates and it never gets old no matter how many times it’s repeated. It’s so comforting that God’s got your back. Who cares what flimsy promises people make when this is God’s own promise:

Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away.

Matthew 24:35

Bam. It’s like you read that and you’ll just go “Yesssss Amen yo, amen.” *Fist bumps Jesus* “My homie, my homie. We bros.”

Now for the new year!

I want to do a little more on praise and worship entering the new year which I feel is a bit lacking in my current walk. I want to P&W alone, with people, among people, everywhere, anytime.

…be filled with the Spirit, addressing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody to the Lord with your heart, giving thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, submitting to one another out of reverence for Christ.

Ephesians 5:18-21

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Colossians 3:16-17

Reading this just makes me feel happy man. They’re almost the same so that counts as one passage hohoho.

Basically, my life mission is to really be this:

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:16 (regarding being a city on a hill and a lamp on a stand)

Basically basically.

And my final focus is the word, knowing it and feeding it and just chewing on it. Keep the fire burning.

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

Hebrews 4:12

Too true. It really just cuts straight to the heart and sometimes I’d rather it not but it’s all for good, it’s the only way to change and stuff. Really have to spend more time on this wordy aspect. It can be boring especially when I’m tired but when I’m in trouble and stressed, it is these words of life that just come to me, surround me and give breath. Hence,

My son, be attentive to my words; incline your ear to my sayings. Let them not escape from your sight; keep them within your heart. For they are life to those who find them, and healing to all their flesh.

Proverbs 4:20-22

This is God’s own voice and it comes to me when I least expect it. So stocking up on the Word is definitely what I’m trying to do next year. I’m thinking that consistency is key.

Yay I managed to finish this in time! That took me a while. But yes.

Hope you all have a fantastic new year ahead!!!

Much Love ❤

A Penny For Your Thoughts

