Love Me Right

They call what is forbidden free

What a lovely word, free

They say it’s natural

So celebrate it, celebrate yourself

But nature, nature does not

Kill itself

I celebrate my eyes my hair my skin

My height, my hands, my fingers, my feet

But I do not celebrate me being a liar

And parade my lies as protection or wit or common sense

Of which you should not discriminate

Of which you should approve

I do not celebrate me being a murderer

And pretend that murder is an artful expression of my emotions,

of anger or passion which you should accept

Of which you should approve

I do not extol my rebellion as an attempt to be an individual, unique person

Of which you should not hate

Of which you should approve

No, don’t do that.

I am a liar

When I was angry, I murdered

When I was rebellious, I disobeyed, I dishonored

That doesn’t mean I want you to celebrate me doing wrong, being wrong

If you love me, really love me,

Make me right

Teach me truth

Teach me forgiveness

Teach me obedience

Don’t let me fall

Don’t let me be

the worst person I can be

We are all trying to be better

Help me be better

It took me a great deal of nerve  to put this up, to call for help

I did it anyway

Because this is how I’ll know you love me

One thought on “Love Me Right

A Penny For Your Thoughts

