Spoilt

Time to grow up for a while

How much? And how?

Will you like me better if I became an adult

Instead of the child I am

The luxury of a childhood I am outliving

Has me lacking, has shortchanged me

Every mark against me had counted

But I did not know, not till now

Have I become something I’d never thought I’d be

Someone awful

And if I have, does the indignance of not wanting to change mean anything

Mean worse?

Pretender. Stop pretending. A pretense can break.

Be. Just be.

Grow up. Grow up. Cry but grow up.

Put behind childish ways, and put on that long suffering world weariness of care

but retain the child like innocence

That is how you are valued.

For better for worse

That is you.

A Penny For Your Thoughts

